Manhattan apartment turned time capsule: Trash company finds ultimate treasure

Bob Hope and his signature

I’ve started a bit of a Bob collection, and I sure Hope it grows.

Trash Company

Front view of "The World of Bob Hope" magazine, found on a rubbish removal job in Manhattan, NY

The wonderful Bob Hope, who appeared in or hosted 199 United Service Organizations (USO) shows, passed away in July 2003 and left behind, especially for me, a signed copy of a biographical magazine. Well, he did not exactly request that I, Nick DiMola, have this item, but a guy can dream, can’t he?

New York Garbage Disposal

TEXACO advertisement next to my TEXACO sign in my office in Ridgewood, Queens

I found this magazine, “The World of Bob Hope,” at the site of a rubbish removal job in Manhattan, New York. Most New York garbage disposal jobs lead to vintage objects, but it’s been a long time since I’ve found an autographed copy of anything. The signature on the top right-hand corner of the book looks authentic, based on the research I’ve done, though I have no actual proof.

Inside, there are black-and-white images of Bob standing with all different celebrities, such as Jack Nicholson, Babe Ruth, Bing Crosby, Tony Penna, Casey Stengel and Lucille Ball.

Queens

Bob Hope & Lucille Ball on photo inside of book

Oddly enough, there’s no year written on the book, but I believe it’s from 1977; inside the book, I found a “South Shore Music Circus” Playbill from 1977. This magazine could have been for sale at the show, and its owner might have slipped the Playbill inside.

My other Bob Hope paraphernalia is the cap of a Breyer’s ice cream Dixie Cup. Hope’s picture from Paramount Pictures’ “The Road to Morocco” is on the back. I’ve been storing this in an old medicine cabinet that is on display in my office.

Trash Pickup

Front view of Breyer's ice cream lid

Image of Bob Hope on back of Breyer's ice cream lid

“I’ll probably lift the lid off the box at my own funeral and count the house”
–Bob Hope

DiMola Bros Rubbish Removal
1640 Summerfield St.
Ridgewood, NY 11385
Phone: 718-326-6969
Fax: 718-326-7979
NGDimola@aol.com / http://dimolabros.com

~ by DiMolaBros1956 on March 17, 2011.

One Response to “Manhattan apartment turned time capsule: Trash company finds ultimate treasure”

  1. […] Posts Manhattan apartment turned time capsule: Trash company finds ultimate treasureLike grandfather like grandson: Grandpa of Middle Village, Queens leaves DiMola 1940 Lionel steam […]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 200 other followers

