Licensed to pick up trash: Emergency garbage removal job leads to more World’s Fair memorabilia

World's Fair License Plate

I found this NY World’s Fair license plate from 1964 on an emergency garbage removal job. A New York basement got flooded from a storm, so DiMola Bros had to go in immediately and clean up.

Just based on a bit of research, it looks like license plates similar to this one currently sell for anywhere from $30 to $150. I suppose the price is based on the condition of it and year it was produced.

I’m a huge World’s Fair collector. You might remember the 1939 World’s Fair brochure I found in an estate cleanout in Flushing, Queens, and the View-Master that has an image of the World’s Fair. Or perhaps you recall the 1939 yearbook World’s Fair edition I found in one of my many New York cleanouts.

While I am an avid World’s Fair collector, I also live for a good license plate. License plates never get old. I always like finding them, and I’ll always find a spot for them in my garage.

My wall of vintage license plates

 

DiMola Bros Rubbish Removal
1640 Summerfield St.
Ridgewood, NY 11385
Phone: 718-326-6969
Fax: 718-326-7979
NGDimola@aol.com / http://dimolabros.com

~ by DiMolaBros1956 on September 28, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

