DiMola opens new doors in NYC apartment wall removal job

It’s not every day you see an old post office door used as a door to a bedroom in a New York apartment. So when you see one, don’t knock it down.

I saw this door when I was on an apartment interior wall removal job on the east side in Manhattan. The apartment owner told my customer that the door had been used in an old post office. When my customer told the owner that he was planning to demolish the interior in order to renovate, the owner asked my customer to place the door off to the side so that he could come pick it up.

When I heard this news, I was pretty bummed. I wanted this door, no question about it. It’s super heavy, which makes sense, considering it’s made of solid oak and adorned with old brass hardware. The oak encases its original frosted panel, which I love. It gives the door personality that a more modern door just wouldn’t have.

In the end, I got the door — the owner never came to pick it up. Needless to say, it’s settling into its new home… in my garage.

DiMola Bros Rubbish Removal
1640 Summerfield St.
Ridgewood, NY 11385
Phone: 718-326-6969
Fax: 718-326-7979
NGDimola@aol.com / http://dimolabros.com

~ by DiMolaBros1956 on March 11, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

