Cleanup crew commemorates 100th anniversary of garbage truck

Waste and Recycling News

It was Monday morning.

I was going through the endless stack of mail on my desk and came across my Waste and Recycling News magazine). And lo and behold, what do I see? It’s the commemorative issue celebrating 100 years of the garbage truck.

Well, that’s right up my alley, I thought.

There have been a lot of stories about the garbage truck lately — stories about the front loaders, the rear loaders, and everything in between. (Read the Waste & Recycling News coverage here.)

Given that I surround myself in garbage on a daily basis (you probably know by now that it’s my passion and chosen profession), I couldn’t help but get a little sentimental. And I immediately realized: Hey, I have antique toy trucks just like these.

You can see in these photos that this is a vintage city sanitation toy truck, made by Louis Marx and Co. around 1940. It’s one of the first toys ever built that resembled a rear-loading garbage truck.

I found this truck years ago clearing out an estate in Queens. It’s been sitting on my shelf with the rest of my truck collection for a while. Articles like the one I read in Waste and Recycling News remind you of the stuff you have that you never think about it. It’s like rummaging through an old box in the attic or storage in the basement that’s been untouched for years.

Marx, the one who created this very toy truck, was an American toy manufacturer from 1919 to 1978. A 59-year run in the toy truck business isn’t bad. He was born in Brooklyn, so he’s a true New Yorker like me. He died in White Plains when he was 85, and he’s buried in a Bronx cemetery today.

Truck

 

What are the toys that you remember most as a kid? Let me know in the comments.

 

You may also like:

Rubbish crew finds Hollywood talent in the trash

DiMola Bros featured in Waste & Recycling News as Hurricane Sandy cleanup crew 

Rubbish removalists take a break to shine their shoes

 

~ by DiMolaBros1956 on December 13, 2012.

3 Responses to “Cleanup crew commemorates 100th anniversary of garbage truck”

  1. Amazing – to think of all the great toys we enjoyed playing with growing up that just get discarded or replaced with a new toy. While I have some friends that kept the old toy treasures they had in their childhood and passed onto there kids, personally – and in 20/20 hindsight – I too would have loved to have kept some of these antique toy treasures (for a heirloom or even for EBay or Craiglist)!

  2. […] Cleanup Crew Commemorates 100th Anniversary of Garbage Truck […]

  3. […] Cleanup crew commemorates 100th anniversary of garbage truck  […]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 200 other followers

