Garbage company finds awesome 8-track tape in Brooklyn estate cleanout

Furniture Removal

Queens rubbish removal company DiMola Bros found this cool eight-track tape in a residential estate clean-out in Brooklyn Heights, Brooklyn.

I love to keep “track” of cool items.

I found this eight-track tape about two years ago during a residential estate clean-out in Brooklyn Heights. The former homeowner was retired and decided to put up the house for sale. The realtor who was selling the home recommended that the owner hire a garbage disposal company to remove the the unwanted furniture and junk from the house. So I went in and, like I always do, found some cool stuff to take home with me.

Eight-track tapes are also known as eight-tracks or eight-track cartridges. They are magnetic tapes, and were popular for about 20 years, from the 1960s to the 1980s. The most fascinating thing about this tape is that you will never be able to find a new one of these, so this is literally a piece of history. I remember when I was a kid, my father and I would ride around in his 1973 Ford LTD and listen to the “American Graffiti” movie soundtrack on an eight-track. I am continually fascinated, and even nostalgic at times, when I find an item like this on the job. It reminds me of how simple life used to be but how far technology has come.

Contact Information

DiMola Brothers – Main Office
1640 Summerfield Street
Ridgewood, NY‎ 11385
Phone – (718) 326-6969‎

Web site: http://dimolabros.com


~ by DiMolaBros1956 on June 25, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
