New York City demolition contractor finds 100-year-old working filter in old NYC sub cellar

Junk Pick Up

Me, standing in front of the giant pool filter

Solid Waste Removal

The pool filter was patented in 1894.

At a Manhattan interior demolition site, I saw this giant, round barrel made of one-inch-thick steel. It was in a sub cellar, or a basement below a basement. In all my years as a demolition contractor, I’ve never added something so big to my antique collection. It was a shame I couldn’t throw it in my truck and display it in my office, but I took a bunch of photos of it instead. I was fascinated by its enormous size and interested history (it was patented in 1894 — more than 100 years ago!).

It’s taller than I am, and is the width of about four or five large garbage cans. There is a large, steel wheel on top, which is used to open and close the valve that allows the water to flow in and out. It makes it look like a battle ship, held together by nothing but nuts and bolts. Today, a regular-sized trash can could do the same job. The best part is, it’s been in operation since 1914! I was shocked that something like this could stay in such great condition and still be used.

Contact Information

DiMola Brothers – Main Office
1640 Summerfield Street
Ridgewood, NY‎ 11385
Phone – (718) 326-6969‎

Web site: http://dimolabros.com

~ by DiMolaBros1956 on September 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
